The 2010 IEEE SOI Conference
Posted date : Dec 8, 2010

For 35 years the IEEE/Electron Devices Society’s SOI Conference has been the premier meeting of engineers and scientists dedicated to current trends in SOI.

The 2010 IEEE SOI Conference was held , October 11-14, 2010, in beautiful San Diego, CA.

The papers presented at the IEEE/EDS SOI Conference give a good indication of what’s in the pipeline for the industry. This year’s hot topics included FD-SOI, energy efficiency, modeling and design, and electrostatic discharge (ESD),  among others.

Chaired this year by Carlos Mazure, CTO of Soitec, the conference welcomed over 150 participants.

The Technical Program Committee, chaired by Dr. Wade Xiong of TI, selected 65 papers that substantially advance the field and highlight the increasing importance of design and technology matching.

The opening Plenary Session featured Professor Chenming Hu from UC Berkeley, Prashant Majhi from Sematech and NASA JPL Jupiter/Europa Mission Lead Karla Clark.

For presentation highlights, see the PaperLinks section of this edition of ASN. The full conference proceedings are available at the IEEE Explore Digital Library website.

The conference kicked off with an excellent Short Course day, chaired by Dr. Bruce Doris of IBM covering “Fully Depleted Device Technology for SOC”.

A well-attended half-day class on “SOI Device and Circuit Fundamentals”, chaired by Dr. Vishal Trivedi of Freescale, covered nanoscale devices and RF/analog design.

The popular and lively Evening Panel Discussion, organized by Dr. Makoto Fujiwara of Toshiba, debated “Device Variability and its impact on circuit design for Fully Depleted Technologies.”

The Best Paper and Best Student Paper were both won by Shuqing (Victor) Cao for “Field Effect Resistor, A Single-Device-At-Pad Solution for ESD Protection In Deeply Scaled SOI Technology”. Researchers from Stanford University, Texas Instruments, Sungkyunkwan University, GlobalFoundries and tau-Metrix contributed to the paper.

Next year’s conference will be held in October 2011 at the Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center (by Arizona State University). Details will be posted at

About the author

Administrator administrator

You must be logged in to post a comment.