SOI Luminaries Shine in IEDM Awards
Posted date : Jan 24, 2011

Of those receiving top awards at the IEDM last month, over half (!) are stars of the SOI community. Wow.

I discovered this while putting together the new listing of SOI-based papers at IEDM (don’t miss the summaries & links now posted in ASN’s most recent PaperLinks).

At the IEDM, the IEEE also awarded the title of “Fellow” to more major figures in the SOI world – see that article in ASN#15.

The IEDM is considered by many to be the most prestigious of the industry’s conferences. Here’s the “SOI list” of the most recent award winners.

2010 IEEE Cledo Brunetti Award

To: Ghavam G. Shahidi, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

“For contributions to and leadership in the development of silicon-on-insulator CMOS technology.”

Ghavam Shahidi has been the driving force in making SOI a manufacturable reality and an integral component of today’s microelectronics.  He is currently the director of Silicon Technology at the IBM T.J. Watson Research Center.

2010 IEEE Andrew S. Grove Award

To: Bijan Davari, IBM T.J Watson Research Center

“For contributions to high performance deep-submicron CMOS technology.”

To create faster, higher-function and low-power microprocessor chips, Bijan Davari and his research team at IBM spearheaded critical changes in chip design to take advantage of new semiconductor materials and processes, including SOI.  He is currently vice president of Next Generation Computing Systems/Technology at the IBM T.J. Watson Research Center.

2010 IEEE Frederik Philips Award

To: John E. Kelly III, IBM

“For leadership in the development and commercialization of silicon technology and for forging industry-university partnerships for semiconductor research and development.”

John E. Kelly III is an executive whose strategic vision has led IBM to major technology breakthroughs and partnerships that have set the pace for the semiconductor industry, including bringing SOI to the high-performance microprocessor market. He is currently senior vice president and director of research at IBM Research.

2010 IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award

To: Tsu-Jae King Liu, University of California at Berkeley

“For contributions to nanoscale MOS transistors, memory devices, and MEMs devices.”

Tsu-Jae King Liu is a researcher who co-invented the FinFET, and who has contributed to improving microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) technology and CMOS. She is currently the Conexant Systems Distinguished Professor at the University of California, Berkeley, where she is also the College of Engineering’s Associate Dean for Research. (Click here to see the FDSOI articles she’s contributed to ASN.)

2009 Roger A. Haken Best Student Paper Award

To: Perrine Batude of CEA-LETI-MINATEC for Advances in 3D CMOS Sequential Integration

The winning paper (awarded at IEDM 2010) is based on Perrine Batude’s PhD dissertation, which she completed at Léti in late 2009.  Leveraging FD-SOI, the work in this paper demonstrates the possibility of obtaining regular 2D performance within a 3D sequential integration scheme. It further investigates the unique features of low temperature processes. Finally, it quantifies for the first time, the electrostatic coupling between the layers. Dr. Batude has a degree from the Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Physique de Grenoble, and specializes in the 3D integration of elementary functions. Léti hired her as soon as she finished her dissertation.

2010 EDS J.J. Ebers Award

To: Mark E. Law, University of Florida

“For contributions to widely used silicon integrated circuit process modeling”

Dr. Law is Professor and College of Engineering Associate Dean of Academic Affairs for the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Florida. Some of his earlier work related to materials and doping was helpful to the advancement of SOI.

A pretty impressive line-up, don’t you think?  Leaders in the research community are certainly impressed with the work of SOI luminaries. But were you surprised by how many were recognized?  Leave a comment and share your thoughts.

(Photos courtesy IBM, UC Berkeley, Leti, UFlorida)

About the author

Administrator administrator

You must be logged in to post a comment.