SOI Luminaries Earn Top IEEE Honors
Posted date : Nov 11, 2011

The IEEE is once again giving two of its most prestigious awards to some of the SOI and advanced substrate industry’s leading figures.

There are few greater honors in engineering than the IEEE  Technical Field Awards (TFAs). And once again, people who work in advanced substrates are among the recipients of two major awards: the Andrew S. Grove award and the Daniel E. Noble Award for Emerging Technologies.

The TFAs are awarded for contributions or leadership in specific fields of interest of the IEEE. The awards consist of a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium. They are typically announced each summer, but the actual ceremonies take place over a year later, giving the recipients time to arrange their schedules to be there.

This explains why in the summer of 2011, the 2012 award winners were announced, while the ceremonies for the 2011 winners announced in the summer of 2010 are just being held now.

The Grove Award

The IEEE Andrew S. Grove Award honors its namesake’s lifetime achievements. It is sponsored by the IEEE Electron Devices Society, and presented to an individual for outstanding contributions to solid-state devices and technology.

As announced last year, the co-recipients of the 2011 IEEE Andrew S. Grove Award are Judy Hoyt and Eugene Fitzgerald.  Professor Hoyt is with the MIT Department of Materials Science. Eugene Fitzgerald is the Merton C. Flemings-SMA Professor of Materials Science and Engineering and head of The Fitzgerald Group at MIT.

Hoyt and Fitzgerald are cited for “seminal contributions to the demonstration of Si/Ge lattice mismatch strain engineering for enhanced carrier transport properties in MOSFET devices.” Their work on “strained” silicon and its application to SOI wafers is well-known in the advanced substrates community. (Professor Fitzgerald wrote about this work in ASN5, Summer 2006.)

The 2011 Grove Award will be presented at the 2011 IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM), which takes place in December 2011 in Washington D.C., USA.

The IEEE has also announced that 2012 Grove award will feature another SOI luminary:  Jean-Pierre Colinge, Head of the Microelectronics Centre, Tyndall National Institute, Cork, Ireland. The award recognizes Dr. Colinge “For contributions to silicon-on-insulator devices and technology.”  He is heralded in the industry for his seminal and continued work in multigate FETS.  This paved the way for FinFET and TriGate architectures. The actual ceremony will take place at the end of 2012.  Dr. Colinge and his work have been featured in many editions of ASN.

Previous Grove winners with strong ties to the advanced substrate community include Bijan Davari  (IBM, 2010) and Dimitri A. Antoniadis (IBM, 2002).

The Noble Award

The IEEE Daniel E. Noble Award for Emerging Technologies honors Dr. Daniel E. Noble, Executive Vice Chairman of the Board emeritus of Motorola. It is given for outstanding contributions to emerging technologies recognized within recent years.

The 2011 Noble Award was given to Mark L. Burgener and Ronald E. Reedy for “basic research and development of silicon on sapphire technology culminating in high-yield, commercially viable integrated circuits”.  Dr. Burgener is vice president of advanced research and Dr. Reedy is the chief operating officer at Peregrine Semiconductor Corporation, San Diego, California.

In particular, the award recognizes their persistence and contributions in making silicon-on-sapphire (SOS) commercially viable for producing integrated circuits with improved speed, lower power consumption and more isolation compared to bulk silicon circuits.

The ceremony for the 2011 Noble Award took place during the IEEE/MTT-S International Microwave Symposium (MTT 2011) in June 2011 in Baltimore, MD, USA.

This summer, the IEEE also announced the winner of the 2012 Noble award: Subramanian S. Iyer, for “the development and implementation of embedded DRAM technologies.” Dr. Iyer is Distinguished Engineer & Chief Technologist, Semiconductor Research & Development Center, IBM Systems & Technology Group. He wrote about therole of SOI in “eDRAM” technology in ASN6 (December 2006). The technology is now at the heart of IBM’s latest offerings.

About the author

Administrator administrator

You must be logged in to post a comment.